TestRail Data Management - TestRail

Data Storage Management

Per TestRail’s Data Storage Policy, Cloud customers have limits on the amount of data that can be stored. The policy applies to the combined amount of storage consumed by the TestRail database and attachments added to TestRail.

Managing your Data Storage can be done from the new Data Management tab of the Administration area. Here you will be able to see your current storage status, as well as the total size of your database and attachments. Storage calculations displayed in TestRail are updated once per day.

info Please Note: the TestRail Data Storage policy will be in grace period status until February 1, 2021. Storage limits will not start taking effect until then, and no overage charges will be billed until March 1, 2021.

If your team is approaching or has exceeded the amount of storage allowed, this document provides some options for reducing data usage inside TestRail. When deleting data from TestRail, please keep in mind it may take up to 24 hours for your data usage to be recalculated.

Upgrade to Enterprise

Currently the Professional TestRail cloud instances have a 50 GB allowance, expandable up to 200 GB through a monthly fee, as defined in the Data Storage Policy.If you are not an Enterprise customer already, and your team needs more storage space, we suggest you consider migrating to TestRail Enterprise, which provides a 500GB allowance, letting you have more room for testing data and  attachments.

Delete old projects

You can choose to delete old projects you no longer need to recover some space. In order to do this, go to the Administration area and navigate to the ‘Projects’ area. Click on the red X next a project you no longer need and confirm you are sure that you want to delete it.

info Note: This action also deletes all test cases and results and everything else that is part of this project. It cannot be undone.

Delete old Test Runs & Plans

Another way of managing your storage is deleting old test runs and test plans. Deleting test runs and plans will delete associated results, attachments, and other testing data from your instance. To perform this action in the TestRail UI, choose the test run you want to delete inside the Test Runs & Results tab. Click on Edit and on the right-side pane you will see the option to Delete this test run. Click on the option and confirm you are sure that you want to delete it.

info Note: This action also deletes all tests and results in this run and cannot be undone.

To delete a Test Plan, choose the Test Plan from the Overview tab or the Test Runs & Results tab. Click on Edit and on the right-side pane you will see the option to Delete this test plan. Click on the option and confirm you are sure that you want to delete it.

info Note: This action also deletes all related test runs and results in this plan and cannot be undone.

You can also utilize TestRail’s API to delete old test runs and plans using the ‘delete_run’ and ‘delete_plan’ API methods. If you need to purge large amounts of old data from your TestRail instance, you would be able to automate the deletion of test runs and plans through the API by utilizing the get_runs and get_plans methods along with a filter (such as created_before) to retrieve a list of old test run or plan IDs. Then, you can use delete_run or delete_plan for these runs and plans which you no longer need.

Move to TestRail Server

Another option you have is migrating your Cloud instance to your own server. The storage limitations mentioned above apply only to TestRail Cloud customers. TestRail Server has no storage limitations by default, so the storage limits for this would  depend on the system configuration and resources of your server.

If you want to migrate from Cloud to Server, first create an export inside the Data Management section of the Administration area, then follow this guide.